On The Rise

Your #1 Choice for News + People On The Rise To Stardom

Tina Turner, Jay-Z Named As 2021 Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame Inductees

On Wednesday the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame confirmed the 2021 class of inductees which includes Jay-Z, Tina Turner, the Foo Fighters, The Go-Go’s, Carole King and Todd Rundgren.

The hall previous stated the class included the “most diverse list of inductees in the history of the organization.”

Jay-Z and Turner beat out a slew of iconic Black musicians like Mary J. Blige, Chaka Khan, Fela Kuti, LL Cool J, and Dionne Warwick.

Jay-Z and the Foo Fighters will be inducted as first time nominees, while LL Cool J has been nominated six times without being named as an inductee. Turner was previously inducted in 1991 with her former husband. Khan was also previously nominated, three times as a solo artist and four times as a member of the band Rufus.

In 2020 Whitney Houston, The Notorious B.I.G.,  Depeche Mode, the Doobie Brothers, Nine Inch Nails, and T.Rex were inducted.

The 36th annual ceremony will be held at 8 p.m. ET Oct. 30 at Rocket Mortgage Fieldhouse in Cleveland, Ohio.

Source: NewsOne

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Discover more from On The Rise

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading